Back to Rift and Bad Poker!

Three day free on rift has me once more getting my gun out , calling my boar and hunting rifts!

Ok second part, bad poker. By bad poker I dont mean poker is bad I just mean my poker is/was bad. I played a terrible game tonight that was 50% laziness of thought / 50% Ego. Note to self: Ego is fucking stupid, Laziness of thought is unforgivable. OK so this is what happened. Rocked up at www.upspoker.com.au event at www.lighthousebeachresort.com.au for free 20k deepstack. I buy a meal and so get a free rebuy that is worth 30k chips, with 2 minutes left to the break I decide to go all in as I am down to 12k in chips and figure Its better to lose them and start after the break with 30k instead of the 15k my rebuy will be worth after the break. I push all in and I let problem one get the better of me not once but twice! I think everybody has folded and so I muck my cards and start collecting up the chips when some one is kind enough to point out that the gentlemen directly across from me called my all in with 4600 in chips. My cards are already mucked so the chips are his. I say nice hand and cash my rebuy card for 30k and move to a new table to play some hands. If you play poker please reread that last paragraph and notice the second moron thing I did. I am not goign to write what it is but lets just say that that guy that called me got a healthy chip bonus out of the fact I got flustered with:

  • Trying to felt myself before the break.
  • Not sitting back and playing the game properly
  • Not focusing on what was going on!

Ok so that was custerfuck 1 now to number 2. This one isn’t so bad but I need to write it down so I can read this later and remember that I need to put my ego in check and my mind in gear at the tables. I get back from the break (Oh insert here that the spag bol I had for dinner was fricken amazing!) and sit down on my new table with a few players I respect and a couple I dont but thats another story. I fold a few hands as I am getting crappy cards. It comes around to my big blind and so I decide since its free poker I will play it blind till someone raises. No preflop raises so I check it and the flop comes out.

  • Flop drops 8h, Ad, 4s
  • Small blind and I insta check as does the rest of the table.
  • Turn comes 8s
  • Same thing as everybody checks
  • River drops 5d
  • Small blind checks, I check, UTG checks, seat four makes 6k with 500/1000 blinds.
  • Rest of table folds round to me and I announce, “Ok I guess I have to look now?” <remember I was playing cards face down to this point>
  • I look at them and see I have 4d, 5c giving me 2 pair. Being the egotistical moron I am and not looking at the board with any kind of intellegence at all I decide in “my infinite wisdom”<—note sarcasm> to push in over the top of him for 11 thousand 2 hundred.
  • UTG folds, the original 6k player thinks for 2 secs and goes CALL.
  • I show my hand with a grin and announce 2 pair. He looks at me confused and shows Ac, 7d.
  • I am looking at him going, “He thinks he won?” I look at the board and notice that there is 2 eights there.
  • Aces and Eights beats my 4455 oh wait I mean my 5588.

Moral of the story, if your going to play poker be awake and pay attention, dont be a fucking idoit and think your better at the game than you are and did I say PAY ATTENTION!!!

As I posted on my facebook status:

Stop playing like you think your good and just be good. 

~ by Serum7six on March 28, 2012.

Leave a comment